Posted by: energyblogwalter | November 24, 2009

I am Jack’s Climate Change Denier Fight Club Guide

Didn’t Fight Club have a joke about Jack?  We need a Jack Catalogue, a trolling reference for bloggers.  This would be a listing of every cheap shot logical argument online for easy reference.

Why?  Every thread about science today is another Fight Club, full of denial and annoying posts.  I fight that fight and am glad I do on various news website threads.  I’m sure you have also hit a thread of Jack’s and I’ll note some characteristics below.

All are fallacies, errors of logic of one kind or another designed to muddle up your thinking and be confusing, all to waste your time.  This is what education was designed to prevent you from being a victim of, so you’re not taken in by a scam artist or bad ideas.

What to do? By all means be conciliatory or note doubts, ask good questions.  That is indeed how science works.  But not lies, boldface lies, and subterfuge.  Mention a link but not dozens.  Better to just mention a source by name and title and let the reader figure it out.

If online I welcome you to call them out with a Jack Fallacy.   Feel free to label a Denier to clarify how they are using their argument. Also important, if they cop up to it or explain their reasoning, thank them and apologize.  We all need to keep the conversation going, and being polite but direct I find the most effective. (It drives them crazy)

Here’s what I have so far.  Taking the “I am Jack’s..” first person motif in Fight Club, thus a Denier would have their self-aware post talk back to them with:

I am Jack’s Misguided Conclusion

I am Jack’s Mention of Different Geography In Another Country That I Have No Control Over

I am Jack’s Irrelevant Comparison.

I am Jack’s Questionable Inference.

I am Jack’s Subterfuge And Not Really Your Friend.

I am Jack’s Tenuous 5-min Conspiracy Theory Of the Day, instead of an Experienced Honoured Multi-degreed Scientist.

I am Jack’s New Unrelated Topic Change.

I am Jack’s Multitude of Website Links That Nobody Reads.

I am Jack’s Journalist who is not a Professional Scientist

I am Jack’s Incapacity to Accept Other Legitimate Points.

I am Jack’s Closed Mind

I am Jack’s Closed Conversation.

I am Jack’s Rudeness.

I am Jack’s Child

I am Jack’s Deleted Comment

I am Jack’s Failure in Math

I am Jack’s Failure in Science Class.

I am Jack’s Lovely Leader Who Cannot Be Questioned.

I am Jack’s Linear Weather System That Has Never Existed On This Planet

I am Jack’s Illiteracy When Reading A Log Graph.

I am Jack’s Love of Pollution

I am Jack’s Unliftable Finger

I am Jack’s Ignorance of Asthma Disease

I am Jack’s Uncaring Towards Others

I am Jack’s Irresponsibility.

I am Jack’s Refusal for Change.

I am Jack’s Overdue Debts

If you see any more Jack’s please leave me a comment!  If you can note the website thread and specifically how your particular Jack missed the point and failed in using his/her argument to make any sense.  A catalogue of this needs to be taken.

very thread about science is another Fight Club.  I fight that fight and am glad I do.I’m sure this thread will use all of these Jimmy’s noted below.  All are Fallacies, Errors of Logic designed to muddle up your thinking and confuse you.  This is what education was designed to prevent you from being a victim of.  King Lear: “But nothing will come of nothing” our cogent lesson here.  The lesson being that things left alone indeed cause havoc and can ruin a kingdom.  What to do?By all means be concilliatory or note doubts, but not lies, boldface lies, and subdefuge.  Mention a link but not dozens.  I will call you out (if online).  If I’m not here, feel free to label a Denier to clarify how they are not being a Jimmy.Thus if Deniers were named Jimmy they will answer any question with…  Jimmy is Missing the Point.  Jimmy is Comparing Different Geography.  Jimmy is making an Irrelevant Comparison.  Jimmy is Infering Something.  Jimmy is Engaged in Subterfuge And Is Not Really My Friend.  Jimmy believes Teniuous 5-min Conspiracies more than our own Experienced Honoured Multi-degreed Scientists.  Jimmy is changing the Topic..Again.  Jimmy Has Too Many Website Links.  Jimmy Can’t Accept Other Legitimate Points.  Jimmy Can’t Change His Mind.  Jimmy can’t Engage In Conversation.  Jimmy is Being Rude.  Jimmy is Behaving Like a Child.  Jimmy Had His Comment Deleted.  Jimmy failed High-School Math.  Jimmy failed High-School Science Class.  Jimmy Loves Leaders.  Jimmy doesn’t understand Non-linear Chaotic Systems.  Jimmy can’t read a Log Graph.  Jimmy Seems to Love Pollution.  Jimmy Can’t Lift A Finger.  Jimmy Doesn’t Have Asthma.  Jimmy Doesn’t Care about Others.  Jimmy Can’t Take Responsibility.  Jimmy Refuses Change.  Jimmy Can’t Pay His Debts.
Responses

  1. I am Jack’s Nothing Should Ever be Done for the First Time

    I am Jack’s Champion of Ignorant Fear

  2. on the 28th I used:

    I am Jack’s Questionable and Confusing Inference.
    I am Jack’s Incapacity to Accept Other Legitimate Points. (2)
    I am Jack’s Irrelevant Inflammatory Comparison.
    I am Jack’s New Unrelated Topic Change.
    I am Jack’s Misguided Conclusion
    I am Jack’s Inability to Lift A Finger
    I am Jack’s Failure in Science Class.
    I am Jack’s Ignorance of Computer Modeling and Programming

    whew

  3. http://cnews.canoe.ca/CNEWS/Environment/Suzuki/2010/07/14/14711551.html


Leave a Reply

Categories

